So it’s been a long while since I’ve updated myself or the production’s upcoming project, but here’s what happened…

Early this summer I was informed by my friend Natalie about a film contest called Interpretations, a short film initiative to encourage aspiring filmmakers to develop their own original and unique voice. Interpretations is hosted by the newest and hottest internet bloggers from You Offend Me You Offend My Family (YOMYOMF), created by Justin Lin and a couple of his actors, writers, and producer friends.

(WOH! WAIT, HOLD THE PHONE!!! Justin Lin? THE JUSTIN LIN that directed FAST & THE FURIOUS 3 AND BETTER LUCK TOMORROW?? THAT JUSTIN???)

Yes…THAT Justin Lin. haha~And I’m so glad to hear about this contest and his recent work not just for Hollywood, but his outreach to aspiring filmmakers through the YOMYOMF blog and Interpretations contest. It is an honor to be apart of this contest and I just hope to set the same goal as Justin is doing which is to inspire more people to make films, tell more stories, and be an inspiration to the community.

HENCE….my summer’s focus was to make a short film under 3 minutes using the script Interpretations has provided which consist of only 4 dialogues. I already shot the film two weeks ago with an amazing cast and crew. SURPRISINGLY I was able to get hold of a special guest star….BRADLEY LUM.

(Wait, BRAD-WHO? Was he that Asian guy on Finishing the Game?) <–*NOTE* Not ALL Asians look alike =_="

No no no… For those of you who are my age or older… BACK IN THE DAYS…you might’ve been very proud of your “AZN Pride” that you would be blasting your music on your Windows 98 using Winamp player listening to the rap song…Tai Mai Shu. THAT’S RIGHT! Bradley Lum = Mr. Tai Mai Shu. The guy who goes to “get a cheeseburger for 29 cents at McDonalds, BABY!!” I was so surprised to be able to meet the Legendary Asian rapper. I swear he is like the very first Chinese rapper I’ve heard rapping during my Jr. High years since MC Jin and I was so proud of my ethnic culture and race LOL. My dear friend Caitlyn (Super Agent Cait) is an agent who knows a lot of Hollywood Asian American actors/actresses such as Art Hsu, Karin Anna Cheung, and many Asian American comedians. Apparently Bradley is now an Asian American Comedian who’s busy running around doing stand up with the Cocky Asian Comedy Tour around the Bay Area and hitting Socal pretty soon, so I am VERY GLAD to have him jump on board for that one day shoot we did. Thank you Bradley!!!

[Bradley on the set for my Interpretations Film]

The film is about 90% done, deadline submission is september 15th. All I’m waiting for now is for my awesome composer Marshall Ha to finish up his epic score, then BAM! I am done! Hopefully things will go smooth, I mean I did spend at least a month writing and rewriting my script, changing things the last min (details on the next film commentary) and find a total of 4 cast and 4 crew members.

I did have fun shooting with everyone, I appreciate their time and effort in helping me pull through everything in just one day which is often times tough to do. But next week should be the official launch of my submission of Interpretations so please stay tune!!! Until then enjoy yourself with Bradley’s old school rap song, Tai Mai Shu!!

Leave a Reply

